Public Document Pack

MINUTES OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AYLESBURY VALE DISTRICT COUNCIL

16 MAY 2018

This meeting was webcast. To review the detailed discussions that took place please see the webcast which can be found at:

http://www.aylesburyvaledc.publici.tv/core/portal/home

PRESENT: Councillor S Renshell (Chairman); Councillors J Brandis (Vice-Chairman), B Adams, C Adams, M Bateman, J Blake, N Blake, J Bloom, A Bond, S Bowles, C Branston, B Chapple OBE, S Chapple, J Chilver, A Christensen, A Cole, S Cole, M Collins, M Edmonds, B Everitt, P Fealey, B Foster, N Glover, A Harrison, M Hawkett, T Hunter-Watts, T Hussain, A Huxley, P Irwin, S Jarvis, S Jenkins, R Khan, R King, S Lambert, A Macpherson, T Mills, L Monger, G Moore, H Mordue, R Newcombe, C Paternoster, C Poll, G Powell, W Raja, M Rand, S Raven, B Russel, M Smith, M Stamp, Sir Beville Stanier Bt, R Stuchbury, D Town, A Waite, J Ward, W Whyte and M Winn.

APOLOGIES: Councillors P Cooper, S Morgan and P Strachan.

WEBCASTING

Prior to the start of the meeting, the Chairman reminded everyone present that the meeting would be broadcast live to the internet and be capable of repeated viewing.

Members of the audience who did not wish to be on camera were invited to move to a marked area at the side of the chamber.

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Councillor Mrs S Renshell indicated that as she was a candidate in the election of Chairman, she could not preside and left the meeting.

The Vice Chairman, Councillor Mrs J Brandis, in the Chair.

It was proposed by Councillor N Blake and seconded by Councillor Mrs J Brandis:-

"That Councillor Mrs S Renshell be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year."

There being no other nominations, it was

RESOLVED -

That Councillor Mrs S Renshell be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs Renshell, having accepted the appointment, duly made and signed the Declaration required by the Local Government Act, 1972, and expressed thanks for her election.

Councillor Mrs S Renshell in the Chair.

2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE CHAIRMAN

Proposed by Councillor Mrs S Renshell and seconded by Councillor Foster:-

"That Councillor Mrs J Brandis be appointed Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year".

There being no other nominations it was,

RESOLVED -

That Councillor Mrs J Brandis be appointed Vice Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year".

Councillor Mrs Brandis, having accepted the appointment, duly mad and signed the Declaration required by the Local Government Act, 1972 and expressed thanks for her appointment.

3. MINUTES

RESOLVED -

That the Minutes of the meeting of Council held on 21 March, 2018, be approved as a correct record.

4. BY ELECTIONS: CENTRAL & WALTON AND QUAINTON WARDS

The Chief Executive reported the election of Waheed Raja as a Member for the Central & Walton Ward at the by-election held on 22 March, 2018 and the election of Scott Raven as the Member for the Quainton Ward at the by-election held on 3 May, 2018.

The Chairman and members extended a warm welcome to Councillors Raja and Raven.

5. COMMITTEES - ALLOCATION OF SEATS

RESOLVED -

That the allocation of committee seats as agreed by Group Leaders and the membership of Committees (also agreed by Group Leaders) shown on the schedules circulated at the meeting, be approved.

6. COMMITTEE MEETINGS

Following the completion of the above formal business, the following Committees met for the purposes of electing Chairmen and Vice Chairmen:-

Development Management Committee Strategic Development Management Committee Licensing Committee General Purposes Committee Standards Committee